Back tracks and landmarks

The track laying continues today. Firstly the backmost incline, climbing from ‘Dalesmouth’ up to ‘Dales Peak’. I want to get this track laid so that it doesn’t hold up landscaping and scenery later on. I also laid a couple of other pieces of track. Most significantly, I have completed the innermost circuit of the double mainline, which means I will soon be able to run the first trains.

2008-01-28-04-500px.jpg
Track laying on the backmost incline. This is a view that will not easily be seen when the layout is finished.

2008-01-28-06-500px.jpg
This corner, where the inclines curve over the double mainline, will all be hidden beneath landscape eventually.

2008-01-28-05-500px.jpg
Here is as far as I have laid today. I don’t like to lay too much in one go because I am gluing sections down rather than pinning them through the sleepers.

2008-01-28-03-500px.jpg
Also today I’ve spaced and secured the second line through ‘Crossdale’ station.

2008-01-28-01-500px.jpg
At last… track all the way round. In this shot you can just see how I’ve pinned sections temporarily until the glue sets.

2008-01-28-02-500px.jpg
Finally, I couldn’t resist hooking up the Lenz ‘Compact’ controller to the track and running the Class 170 Turbstar for the first time. OK, it couldn’t go very far because I haven’t started wiring properly, but it was still a landmark occasion.

Leave a Reply

