More ‘computer chair’ railway modelling

Having changed the trackplan and track schematic for ‘Dalesmouth Station’, I have now got to physically change the pasted-down plan on the baseboards.

Here I have marqueed the square that I want to print out, to select it.
The first step is to marquee the square that I want to print out, to select it.

The trackplan is drawn up in Adobe Illustrator at a 1:1 scale, so that when I come to print elements of the plan out there is no scaling involved. But, it does mean I have to select the elements I want and then paste them onto a paper size I can print out. In my case this is A3, although the plan is broken-up into 200mm squares, which could be printed on an A4 printer. (At A4 you would get some clipping of the image though, unless you have an edge-to-edge printer).

Here you can see all the elements for the square selected
Here you can see all the elements for the square are selected after marqueeing.

The trackplan is drawn on several different layers to allow the same drawing to be used to plan signalling etc, but whose layers can be turned off to make them invisible when not required. So the first thing I have to do is turn off any unwanted layers and make sure that those that are left are unlocked.

The copied elements are then pasted onto a blank A3 document.
The copied elements are then pasted onto a blank A3 document.

Then I marquee the square that I want to print out, to select it, copy it and paste it onto a blank A3 document.

The border of the square is then used as a clipping mask.
The border of the square is then used as a clipping mask.

At this point I bring the border of the square to the front and use it as a clipping mask to hide any elements outside the square, making sure to reset the border colour to grey to make it visible. I find that this operation makes the image simpler to trim out.

The printed article.
The printed article.

Finally I send the finished file to the printer at a low resolution and fast quality setting to conserve ink and time.

All I’ve got to do now is paste the beggars down…

Trimmed out files ready to paste onto the baseboards.

Leave a Reply

