Modifying Peco Code 100 Electrofrog turnouts

I am modifying my Peco Code 100 Electrofrog turnouts so that the power through the point isn’t reliant on the point blades making contact with the stock rails. This also involves being able to switch the polarity of the frog. Having decided how I am going to do this, it is time to put theory into practice.

Peco SL-E88 Electrofrog turnouts
Peco SL-E88 Elecrofrog turnouts. The bottom one has been modified, ready for wiring (Click on the image for larger view).

I started by removing enough of the plastic sleepers on the back of the turnout to reveal the underside of the rails. I did this by carefully using a cutting disc in my rotary tool. This side of the turnout is now ready for wiring.

Peco Code 100 Electrofrog turnouts
In this photo I have indicated where the bottom Peco turnout has been modified compared to the top one (Click on the image for larger view).

Next, I turned the point over and cut through both closure rails with the cutting disc again. This isolates the frog electrically from the rest of the point.

Cutting through the rails to isolate the frog
Here I have highlighted where I cut through the rails to isolate the frog (Click on the image for larger view).

Working on the back of the turnout again, I soldered the wiring in place. The frog is wired at (A) and the rail feeds are wired to both the stock rail and closure rail at (B) and (C).

Wiring of the turnout completed
Wiring of the turnout completed (Click on the image for larger view).

2 thoughts on “Modifying Peco Code 100 Electrofrog turnouts

  1. sorry i am not very electrical minded i get the drift of it but a wire where does it go for polarity change

    • Hi Michael,

      The piece I wrote about Modifying Peco Code 100 Electrofrog Turnouts followed on from an earlier post about using Circuitron ‘Tortoise’ slow motion switch machines to change the polarity of the frog. Looking back, this isn’t obvious now, so I’ve added in a link to the previous article ‘Frogs and Tortoises’

      I hope this helps to clear things up.

      Cheers,
      Ian

Leave a Reply

