Dales Peak… Take 5

Yes, I really am going to dismantle what I’ve done so far and begin a rebirth of the layout as ‘Dales Peak Mk5’. Although I loath the idea of starting again, I have been persuaded by the overwhelming logic. It’s just going to be easier, in the long run, to construct the layout as modules which can be removed from the loft.

So, here we go again. Let the work commence…

Layout deconstruction. I've started by removing the programming track and scraping off the paper surface to reveal the screw heads.
Layout de-construction (or should that be destruction). I’ve started by removing the programming track and scraping off the paper surface to reveal the screw heads.

The screws at the front of the layout I found and removed quite quickly...
The screws at the front of the layout I found and removed quite quickly…

...but before I can remove the screws at the back of the board I have to remove the cliff face.
…but before I can remove the screws at the back of the board I have to remove the cliff face. This is going to get messy. I feel the need for some black bags coming on.

2 thoughts on “Dales Peak… Take 5

  1. Following your website and build with real interest. Im building a loft layout but have halted after getting framework in place and bits of test track laid out. Like you, Im trying to decide weather to go modular, I think it makes a lot of sense, although yours must have been a much more agonising decision being so advanced.

    Keep up the good work and keep the pages coming.

    Regards

    Pete

    • Thank you for your interest and the encouragement Pete.

      I’m hoping to make reasonable progress with the modular approach, but I’m sure there will be a learning curve to this method as well. Watch this space!

      Ian

Leave a Reply

