What’s the hold up?

The Overdale Quarry loading facility test fitted over the tracks
The Overdale Quarry loading facility test fitted over the tracks

The other day I started to question why I haven’t made much progress on the new layout. Of course the obvious factors, like having to start again and time constraints, play a part but it struck me that this wasn’t the whole story.

I had got so far with the old static layout and now I was contemplating a modular, almost fremo approach. I think the problem is that I am missing having something set up that I can can just go and tinker with. In other words, a static layout.

So, I’ve decided on a compromise approach. I’m going to keep the module format but permanently assemble them in place. This way I’ve got a permanent layout, but one that could be disassembled and removed from the loft if necessary.

The first beam screwed in place to support the new layout
The first beam screwed in place to support the new layout

What I needed to end the hold up was something to hold up the layout. I’m installing supports to carry the modules, which can then be fixed in place.

Just the two supports in place to start with
Just the two supports in place to start with

The first module in place on the supports
The first module in place on the supports

At the moment the module is just resting on the supports
At the moment the module is just resting on the supports

Quite a bit of room behind the module for a second, slimer module
Quite a bit of room behind the module for a second, slimer module

Of course the whole track plan, etc. will have to be revisited again, but I’m no stranger to that. At least now I can think about wiring things up and running engines again. Something I couldn’t enthuse about when it was just a module.

Leave a Reply

