Ten Commandments dry stone wall… the base colours

Starting to put the base colours on the dry stone wall with a reference photo taped to the backboard

I’ve started applying the first base colours to the model dry stone wall

To begin with I painted the entire length of dry stone wall a pale grey, to help pick out any imperfections. Next I taped a reference photo of dry stone walling, which I had downloaded from the internet, to the backboard. I realised from this that it was probably going to be easier to work from dark to light.

Applying the base colours to the model dry stone wall

So I started the serious colouring, on a small end section of the wall, by applying a coat of dark grey (Not one of the ’50 Shades of Grey’ for the ladies, might I add). The following day I dry brushed a lighter grey over the top, leaving the dark grey to suggest the shadow areas.

Light grey over dark grey to suggest the shadow areas
Light grey over dark grey to suggest the shadow areas

Leave a Reply

